Are Brass Knuckles More Effective Than Other Self-defense Weapons?

Brass Knuckles and Other Self-defense Items

Jairus Nadab
4 min readJun 4, 2019

Being a martial artist, I have had numerous people ask me about the effectiveness of brass knuckles in a self-defense situation. I am not just a martial artist, I am also obsessed with various sorts of weapons and tools. Although, it does not mean that I use those weapons against someone but I sure do have them in my collection and I know how to use them as well. It is my hobby but I play it safe and sound.

I have a wide range of different weapons ranging from all types of knives i.e. pocket knives, survival knives, Bowie knives, tactical knives, self-defense knives, fantasy knives, daggers, etc. Then I have Nunchucks, pepper sprays, stun guns, and brass knuckles as well. All of these weapons can be used for self-defense. Some of them perform better than the others as some are more effective than the others in a self-defense situation. Brass knuckles have recently gained popularity again.

They have been quite popular throughout human history as well and were used extensively during World War 1 when guns were quite expensive and people could not buy them so that gave birth to the requirement of a cheap weapon and that is how brass knuckle knives became popular back them. These knives had knuckles attached to their handles and the blade used to be razor-sharp and pointed which made this knife quite perfect for thrusting and stabbing.

Also, it served as an excellent weapon in the trench war system which was a major part of World War 1. These knives could be used to stab and kill and could also be used to throw magnificent punches with the knuckles part. Moreover, this design facilitated in a more convenient and stable grip of the knife. But that was a different time, a war meant deaths and blood. But today, with all these rules and stable societies, is the use of brass knuckles in today’s society a good option even for self-defense? Let us find an answer to that question.

Is it a Good Choice to Use Brass Knuckles?

I will narrate a story to you. I was in college and I was out with my friends at a picnic party. Some other groups of our batch were also there. The boys made teams and started to play a football match. It was a nice Sunday afternoon and we were enjoying very much.

The cool breeze was quite refreshing and the sun was so nourishing. We started playing and lying beside the river and that’s when we heard the noise. The boys were shouting, my friends and I ran towards the scene and what we saw was literally scary. A boy of large built was continuously punching another boy.

It turned out that the football match turned into a serious fight over some conflict of goals. The big guy had something on his hand that looked hard and metallic. When I tried to focus, I saw that he was wearing brass knuckles. Those knuckles were real as they were made up of metal and they were quite dangerous as well.

Those brass knuckles were black in color and I could see that it had a metallic skull designed on it. It was a four-fingered knuckle and was quite strong and it had the boy bleeding out in no time at all. The boy was the victim was so covered in blood by now that I couldn’t even see his face. His was losing consciousness and it looked like his jaw was broken as well. The scene was so scary and all of us were just rooted to the spot. We could not even breathe. But just then, a car stopped near us.

It was a police car and they immediately intervened and arrested the boy who was using brass knuckles. Someone must have called the police while everyone else was busy watching the fight or I should say shocked to see the fight. Whoever he/she was saved the life of the boy who was being beaten by the other big guy with the knuckles.

Everyone was silent now and that’s how we learned the lesson that brass knuckles are nothing to be messed with. Oh, and did I tell you that the boy who used the knuckles was sent to jail and he is now serving his sentence there. So, this is what you get when you go out of line and use something about which you have no idea and you surely don’t know about the consequences.

So, I will recommend you to stay away from brass knuckles because no matter how effective they are and how cool they may seem, they are very dangerous and can land you in very serious trouble if you are not careful with them.

--

--